In His Footsteps – Anzac Day 2012 – Gallipoli

Posted: May 23, 2011 in General, Surnames
Tags: ,

Well, today I have finally done something I’ve been wanting to do for a long time.  I have booked a trip to Gallipoli for the Anzac Day Service in 2012.  I have been searching for a tour to go on and looking at various options I have finally decided on Mat McLachlan’s Battlefied tours.  Now all I have to do is save, save and save.

I have always had an interest in Gallipoli and the Anzac spirit but since finding out who my paternal grandfather was back in 2002 (my father’ never knew him, as he died when my father was 9 months old and my grandmother was reluctant to talk about him) and finding his WW1 sevice record showed that he had served in Gallipolli, and again in France before being sent back to England for the remainder of the war.

Frederick was born in Essex in 1884 and was living with his mother and brother in 1911. When war broke out Frederick was living in Melbourne and enlisted in the AIF on the 18th August 1914 and joined the 2nd Field Artillery Brigade 4th Battery and left on the HMAT Shropshire on the 20th October 1914, he returned to Australia on the Orantes on the 21st February 1920.

Bye for now..

Comments
  1. geniaus says:

    I have been fortunate enough to visit Gallipoli although not for ANZAC Day.
    It is a sobering experience to stand on that narrow piece of land on which our forefathers landed.
    Congratulations on organising your trip – it will be a worthwhile pilgrimage.

  2. jseaford says:

    Great job. Wife and I are going in June. Have a great Uncle buried in France, so off there as well.

Leave a Reply

