52 Ancestors in 52 weeks #27 Elizabeth Dilworth and James Shaw

Posted: August 17, 2014 in 52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks, Dilworth

In a recent post I wrote, that I did not have much information on the Family of Eliza Dilworth and her husband James.

Yesterday, I was laying on the lounge, watching an old episode of Who Do you Think you are (Australia) and I had my iPAD with me. I decided to search Trove for my Dilworth ancestors. I did a blanket search of the surname with the years 1841-1900. There were a number of pages to go through and after a few pages, I had that YES! moment, where I found the below advertisement in 1888, that Joseph Dilworth placed requesting that either Eliza Shaw or her husband James get in touch:

“SHAW: Mrs. JAMES SHAW, maiden name ELIZA DILWORTH, or her husband, JAMES SHAW, last heard of and supposed to be still in Melbourne, write to your brother. JOSEPH DILWORTH. Address, Summerville, Elsmore, near Inverell. Melbourne papers please copy”.

I immediately went to the Victorian BDM Index and what do I find? Eliza’s death in 1911.

I purchased the certificate and find that she was a widow, aged 66, parents listed as Joseph Dilworth and Eliza Ditty. She was buried at Melbourne Cemetery and two children were listed, William James and Joseph Henry.

 

My previous post of Eliza and James is here: http://baker1865.wordpress.com/2014/06/09/52-ancestors-in-52-weeks-20-elizabeth-dilworth-the-shaw-family-mystery/

Leave a Reply

