52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks #14 Cecil Baldwin Baker – Boggabri to Queensland

Posted: April 21, 2014 in 52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks

Cecil was my great uncle. He was the second youngest child of Alfred and Ellen Baker. Alfred died at Narrabri in 1909. I have been looking for information on Cecil for a while now. All I knew was that he was born in June 1908.

I knew he married Elsie Jobson at Gunnedah in 1927 but had nothing further to go on.

I had previously searched for Cecil’s death in the NSW Death Indexes but found nothing. It wasn’t until I did a search on Ancestry the other day that I discovered him living in Queensland. Between 1936 and 1958, Cecil and Elsie are listed in the QLD Electoral rolls living at the following places.

  • 1936: St George, Maranoa, Queensland, Australia
  • 1937: Roma, Maranoa, Queensland, Australia
  • 1943: Moreton, Mount Gravatt
  • 1949: Moreton, Mount Gravatt
  • 1954: Bowman,Bulimba
  • 1958: Griffith, Morningside

o   Elsie died in 1958

  • 1963: Capricornia, Gladstone
  • 1968: Capricornia, Rockhampton North

I found Cecil’s death on the QLD Death Indexes.

Year       Reg#      First name(s)     Last name           Father   Mother               

1971       C3172    Cecil Baldwin      Baker    –              Baker    Ellen –

I also thought I would see what I would get if I purchased the historical image (cost $20). The actual image is better than I expected. Pity NSW doesn’t have the same ability to download certificates immediately.

Cecil died on the 14th April 1971 at Leichhardt Park Station Dingo, Queensland, he was 62 years old. He had three children listed (Sidney 43, Annie 41 and Marie 35). Marie is listed with the words ‘adopted’ next to her name.

 

Comments
  1. […] – “Cecil Baldwin Baker – Boggabri to Queensland” on My Family History […]

Leave a Reply

