52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks #12b Emily Mathews: David Cooper & Bert Talbot

Posted: March 28, 2014 in 52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks, Matthews
Emily Matthews (born 1892), Married David Henry Cooper in 1910 and Bert Talbot in 1919

Going through my information on the children of George Thomas Mathews and Ellen Shoulders, I noticed that I didn’t have the death details for 3 of their children being Maryann (born 1890), William (born 1887) and Emily (born 1892). Maryann’s death I located and you can read about how I came to find this here. For William I can find no trace of a marriage or death.

For Emily, I am still searching. Emily was born in 1892 at Boggabri New South Wales.  She married David Henry Cooper on the 3 February 1910 at Manilla, New South Wales, Australia. David died on the 8th June 1918. Emily was 18 and David was 36.  David died in 1918 and then Emily married again to Bert Talbot on the 7th October 1919 at Mudgee, New South Wales, Australia

My guess is she died sometime after 1963. She is found on the electoral living with Bert on the cnr of Stella and Stanely Street Fairfield. I’ve done a search of the NSW death indexes but no luck. Bert Talbot died in 1980.

I then took my search back to David Cooper, Emily’s first husband. I looked up the Australian Cemeteries Index to see if there was a photo of the grave for David, who was buried at Wollar General Cemetery, Wollar, New South Wales, Australia. I noticed the following information:

Cemetery: Wollar General NSW
• Person Id: 7803230
• Surname: Cooper
• Given Names: David Henry
• Birth Date: 1873?
• Death Date: 2 Jun 1918
• Age: 45
• Gender: M
• Portion: Ang
• Remarks: husband; father; acc. shot

What caught my eye, was ‘acc shot’. Now that’s two in one day, I found that had died due to being shot. I looked up the New South Wales, Australia, Registers of Coroners’ Inquests, 1821-1937 on Ancestry and found the coroner finding was ‘Gunshot wound accidently self-inflicted’. I did a search on Trove, but could find no reports on David’s death.

The inscription on David headstone by his wife is:

In Loving Memory of
My Darling Husband David Henry Cooper
Died June 8 1918
Age 46 years
Nearer my God to the,
No One knows the parting or what the farewell cost,
But God and his loving Angls have gained Dave what I have lost

Comments
  1. […] – “Emily Mathews: David Cooper & Bert Talbot” on My Family History […]

Leave a Reply

