52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks #8 The Will of Charles Patrick Dilworth

Posted: March 2, 2014 in 52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks
Tags:

The below is a transcript of the will of Charles Patrick Dilworth, my maternal great grandfather.

Charles was born on the 30 Jul 1861 at Newtown, New South Wales and died 2 Mar 1946 at Boggabri, New South Wales.

Dillworth Charles Patrick late of Boggabri in the Sate of New South Wales Retired Farmer

This is the last will and testament of me Charles Patrick Dillworth of Boggabri in the State of New South Wales retired farmer. I give and bequeath to my daughters Mary Winifred Jerrett, wife of Bertie Thomas Jerrett, Catherine Gladys Baker, wife of Herbert Baker, and Josephine Roser, wife of George Eric Roser a sum of one hundred and twenty pounds each absolutely and beneficially. I give and bequeath to my son James William Dillworth, a sum of fifty pounds absolutely and beneficially. I give devise and bequeath to my daughter Clara Margaret Giles wife of Alfred Giles absolutely and beneficially my land with house and all improvements thereon where I now reside and which comprises four acres thirty three and one half perches or thereabouts and which is the land comprised in certificate of title registered volume 4741 folio 150. I give devise and bequeath the rest residue and remainder of my estate unto my daughter Clara Margaret Giles absolutely and beneficially and in addition to any other device or bequest to her under this my will and I appoint my daughter the said Clara Margaret Giles sole executrix and trustee of this my will. I hereby revoke all former wills and testamentary writings by me at any time heretofore made and do declare this only to be my last will and testament. In witness, I have to this my will set my hand this twenty second day of March in the year one thousand nine hundred and forty five.

C P Dilworth

Signed by the said Charles Patrick Dilworth so and for his last will and testament in the presence of us both present at the time who at his request in his sight and presence and in the sight and presence of each other have hereunto subscribed our names as witness: H G Mitchell JP, Bank Manager Boggabri. Stan Warburton Solicitor Boggabri

11th April 1946. On this date probate of the last will of the above named deceased was granted to Clara Margaret Giles the executrix named in the said will. Testator died on the 2nd March 1946. Estate Sworn at the sum of £935:13:net

Not sure of the reason why Clara was given the bulk of the estate but I’m assuming it was because she was the oldest living child at the time of Charles death. Charles eldest two sons Charles (1890-1890) and Dennis Joseph (1891-1944) had pre deceased him.

Leave a Reply

