History and Genealogy Expo: Some Useful Links

Posted: October 31, 2010 in History & Genealogy Expo Sydney 2010, Unlock the Past

Last weekend I spent two days at the History and Genealogy Expo at Parramatta, which was well run by Unlock the Past.

Over the two days I attended five talks.  In all, the two day event was excellent and I took away with me some knew found knowledge and some excellent new resources that I bought, such as some books and software.

From each of the talks I attended, I talk a great deal of notes and in summary I provide the following links relating to 3 of the talks I attended:

Caring for Your family history archives

 

Discover Scottish Family History

 

Tracing your Irish Ancestors to their Homeland

  • Find your ancestors in Australia first before trying to find them in Ireland
    • Check Shipping Records
    • Birth, Death & Marriage Records
    • Once you know where they came from:
      • What is a townland
      • What is a parish
      • Why did the leave Ireland?
      • What was the agricultural situation like?

 

Leave a Reply

