My Grandmother – a treasure

Posted: September 29, 2010 in General

Sometimes life throws you a curve ball.  Sometimes you know the curve ball is coming but it still hits you hard.

Last Sunday I spent 3 hours with my Grandmother. It was just the two of us talking and spending time together.  I asked her about her mother and father.  I already knew their names but talking to her and getting my Nanna to talk about them as people and who they were was special.   My Great Grandmother was Daisy Harris.   Daisy died when my grandmother was 13 in 1932 and Nanna said that even though she did not have a photo of her, ‘I still remember her long black hair as if she was standing here in front of me’.  My Great Grandfather, Ernest Mitchell was a character.  I already knew that he was the trainer of the 1921 North Shore Bears SFL (AFL) winning team but she said that her and her sister used to go to North Sydney Oval with their father, just so they could get to eat the oranges he took to the team.  He also performed in a number of plays in the 1920’s and 1930’s in Sydney.  My Grandmother said that he played the ‘Black Fella’ in Uncle Tom’s Cabin. I already knew that he had been in Uncle Tom’s Cabin but to have acutally been the star of the play, that I didn’t know.  He also played Captain Milton in another play, which I think is ‘Currency Cash’.  Ernest did not use his real name when performing but had stage name, which my grandmother couldn’t remember.  When I left, I said goodbye, told her I loved her.

Today sadly, my grandmother passed away at the grand age of 92 years. I will no longer get the chance to talk to her again but I’m glad I spent that time with her on Sunday. I will treasure those 3 hours every day of my life.  I am sure she is now with her sister and their sitting down having a cup of tea and having an old chin wag just like they used to.

Comments
  1. I am so sorry to hear of your grandmother’s passing – my condolences to you and your family. And what a great opportunity you’ve had to gather family memories from her while still alive – a gift I know you’ll pass on to the rest of the family.

Leave a Reply

